Recognising Excellence within the AAFC


For the first time since its inception, the same Wing claimed both National Cadet of the Year and National Instructor of the Year Awards at the Air Force Cadets National Awards Night.

Held on 4th May at the Australian Defence Force Academy in Canberra, the Air Force Association was represented by then Air Force Association President Carl Schiller OAM, CSM and Honorary Treasurer/Secretary Peter Colliver OAM.

Every year, each Wing around Australia selects their Cadet and Instructors of the Year who have displayed the values of the AAFC and demonstrated an exceptional contribution to their Squadron, Wing and community. A national level selection board then selects the National Award winners.

Cadet Warrant Officer Claudia Pollard of 402 Squadron - Watsonia, from 4 Wing, was named the AAFC National Cadet of the Year and CPL (AAFC) Kyle Charles of 401 Squadron - Surrey Hills also from 4 Wing, was awarded the AAFC National Instructor of the Year for 2024.

Above: AFC National Award winners & 4WG representatives.

CWOFF Claudia Pollard also accepted the trophy for winning the National Fieldcraft Competition last month, as captain of the 4 Wing Team.

CWOFF Pollard then joined the Chief of Air Force and the Warrant Officer – Air Force in the presentation of acknowledgements to sponsors of the Air Force Cadets Foundation, which included the Air Force Association and was accepted by Carl Schiller.


Above (L to R): AFA President, Carl Schiller was presented with a sponsor acknowledgement from CWOFF Pollard; Air Force Association’s Peter Colliver OAM (L) and Carl Schiller OAM CSM at the AFC National Awards dinner in Canberra on 4 May.

Share this with your friends